Caspar David Friedrich

Caspar David Friedrich was born in 1774 in the town of Greifswald. He was a German Romantic landscape painter best known for his mid-period allegorical landscapes. He began his studies in art as a youth. He studied in Copenhagen until 1798, before settling in Dresden. Friedrich’s work brought him renown early in his career. Nevertheless, his work fell from favour during his later years, and he died in obscurity in 1840. The early 20th century brought a renewed appreciation of his work, and in the late 1970s Friedrich regained his reputation as an icon of the German Romantic movement and a painter of international importance.

Caspar David Friedrich is featured in Edition: Lunacy and Edition: Paradise Found

Riverside in Fog (c.1821)
The Chasseur in the Forest (1814)
Woman Before the Rising Sun (1818-20)
Monk by the Sea (1808-10)
A Walk at Dusk (c.1830-35)
Mountain Landscape with Rainbow, 1809-10
Two Men Contemplating the Moon, 1825–30
Easter Morning, 1828-35
Polar Sea: The Destroyed Hope, 1823–24