Raised in White Plains, New York, Beans (aka Mr. Ballbeam), was a member of the influential Brooklyn Boom Poetic Collective. He then found acclaim merging hip-hop with electronica as one-third of the influential N.Y.C. progressive rap outfit Antipop Consortium.
 In 2000, Beans released his solo work The Nude Paper on 12” on the Mo Wax record label. After the breakup of the Consortium he released his solo full-length debut, Tomorrow Right Now, on Warp Records in 2003. After a series of tours with acts as diverse as the Rapture, Out Hud, El-P, Prefuse 73, and Mike Ladd, Beans released his follow-up EP, the Now, Soon, Someday in 2004, and the full-length Shock City Maverick in that same year. It was followed by Only, a collaboration with avant-garde jazzers William Parker and Hamid Drake and was released by 2006 by the Thirsty Ear label's Blue Series. For his 2008, Thorns, he handled his own production, and 2011’s End It All featured guest producers such as Four Tet, Clark, and Interpol’s Sam Fogarino on the Anticon label. Also in 2011, Beans reteamed with HPrizm, Matthew Shipp, and William Parker for the album Knives from Heaven.

Courtesy of Anticon Records.

Beans is featured in Edition: Refresh!

Blue Movie